My home altar | Personal

Not knowing when I would ever get to make my pilgrimage to Japan, I decided to get my own mizuko Jizō statue to keep at home. I found one when I wasn’t looking, in a gardening center. It’s a small statue made of cement, and I am pretty sure that it is the Chinese deity Guanyin and not actually Jizō. Still, it fit was I was after and has been my Jizō ever since.

With the move to Austin and my belongings not being able to enter the country until I got my paperwork, I had to wait a long time to get my Jizō back. Then, it was sort of thrown into a bookcase in the moving shuffle, awaiting proper organization of said bookcase.

Today, I figured that it was time to give Jizō the predominant place it deserves, and the space that I needed. I moved the bookcase, changed everything around, and set up a small altar for Jizō. It’s not much really, just a few stones that I love and a candle to light. I may add to it with time, but until then, I am happy that it has a dedicated space. I can now sit by it and meditate, and talk to my babies.

my home jizo altar

Do you have an altar in your home? What should I be adding to mine?

About Magalie

Canadian girl living in Texas, off to see the world when she can!
This entry was posted in Home, Post with photo and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think!

