How I got to having a driving license | Home

finally!

So this came in the mail today. This is a huge step for me.

Here is something. This will seem strange to most of you: I am 32 years old and I do not know how to drive. There are many reason “why”, but I will explain a few of them to you.

1. All of my life I have lived in big cities, with great public transportation services. Not only that, but I lived downtown or close to it, and always close to services. Walking to the grocery store was always a given. Walking to almost anywhere was my reality in Montreal, Toronto, and Vancouver. Even in Kelowna, which is smaller and more spread out, I can get around by foot, bike, or bus pretty easily. I have never felt the need to have a car, or to learn to drive. Indeed, to me it seemed like having a car would be an inconvenient: I would have to pay for it, fill it with gas, pay insurance, park it, navigate it in traffic. Not my idea of fun, ever. I never saw it as giving me any freedom that I already didn’t have. Yes, there are times where having a car may have been practical, but these were always very few and far in between.
2. Just think of how much money I have saved by not driving the last 16 years of my life. How do you think I was able to save so much money to go on two big trips around the world? It just never was a big enough priority for me, and so it was an easy sacrifice in the quest for travel funds.
3. I was all set to learn how to drive when I was 16. I even had the money to take the driver education course. And then our house was robbed, and with everything else they took they left with my money. I never took the class with my friends, and then I just never took the class.
4. And then as time went by I became afraid of driving. This fear has actually progressed quite a bit to where I don’t often even feel comfortable being in a car. The idea of driving gives me panic attacks.

Now, I know that I could have learned how to drive and just not owned a car. I know that these are all stupid reasons. Still, they are the reason that I told myself, how I justified all of this.

Over the year it has become more of an issue that I do not know how to drive, and so I decided that I would get started. That, and to make my husband happy. I went out and got myself a copy of the book and studied for the written test, step 1 in getting my license. I studied and studied and passed the test with flying colours. And so, here it is: a brand new learner’s license as seen above.

The next step, of course, is to actually learn how to drive. Now there are two issues: 1) my fear, that I need to surmount, and 2) my work schedule. OK, I know this is more excuses, but – my work schedule changes every single day every single week. How am I supposed to schedule anything with that?

Regardless of the excuses, I am proud of myself for taking the next step. Now, onto the next one!

PS. Never before have I had such a great photo of myself on a piece of ID. It doesn’t look like it in my photo of the cards, but they even smoothed my skin out, took out the bags under my eyes and everything – it’s like I’ve been Photoshoped! I am never giving this card up 😛

About Magalie

Canadian girl living in Texas, off to see the world when she can!
This entry was posted in Home, Post with photo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think!

