Making pizza | Home

I was lucky enough to receive a beautiful KitchenAid for Christmas, but hadn’t used it yet. I decided that the best way to break it in was to try my hand at making pizza dough. So, I picked a recipe, got all of the ingredients, and got started.

making pizza dough
making pizza dough
making pizza dough

The next day it was time to make pizza, and this is when I realized that the dough was a complete disaster. It was dough, but it felt like it had nothing holding it together. As soon as I tried stretching the dough out, it just ran away from me, into a paper thin mess. The recipe I tried was Heidi’s “best pizza dough recipe” and it is an incomplete recipe. It turns out that a crucial step is missing: the activating of the yeast. I went back and read the instructions again, hoping that the mess up was mine, but sadly it was not. Basically this is a “cold fermentation” recipe, and you add the yeast to the flour without activating it first. If this isn’t a mistake, I have no idea how it is supposed to work, because basically the yeast just remaining in it’s little balls and never incorporated with the ingredients as it should of had. Needless to say, I won’t be trying this recipe again…

making pizza
making pizza
making pizza
pizza #2
pizza #1
pizza #2
pizza #2

And the cooked pizzas? They were not really all that great… even with the tasty topping. On the upside though, I got to use the KitchenAid!

About Magalie

Canadian girl living in Texas, off to see the world when she can!
This entry was posted in Home, Post with photo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making pizza | Home

  1. Ginger says:

    Oh mon cher just wait until you whip egg whites!!!!!!! Such peaks!

    Like

  2. Jill says:

    Good to know! I’ve thought about using that dough recipe too. Glad you shared your bad experience! I always end up using a recipe that I’ve memorized. It’s probably not the best dough in the world, but I like it and it works! (And I have some leftover homemade pizza from last night in the fridge I better go check on!)

    Like

Let me know what you think!

