Happy Holidays! | Home

happy holidays everyone!

It’s amazing to us that we get to spend Christmas at home, in our own things, with a tree and everything. The house is slightly decorated, the tree is glowing and there are gifts under the tree – we are warm and cozy and happy. There is snow outside and we have a fuzzy puppy: life doesn’t get much better than that.

The past two Christmases feel so far away: in cloudy Sapa, and ashy Bariloche. We miss the markets of Vietnam and the lamb / firework combo of Argentina, but a home is what we really had been wanting. And while friends and families are still far away, we take comfort in knowing they are only a phone call away, and that we won’t have to worry about getting a good Skype connection.

I really love our tree, and I had been playing around with my camera a bit to try to get the perfect holiday shot for this year’s post. I wanted to try playing around with shaped bokeh, and so I improvised a bit at home (see here for a proper how-to). The concept worked really well with my prime lens, but failed miserably with my zoom lens, no matter the size of the hole. Indeed, the mostly black photo is what it looked like with the zoom lens, and the great looking shots were taken with my 50mm. As such I wasn’t able to get a full size photo of our tree with hearts, but I like these shots none the less.

Happy holidays everyone, and I wish that your 2013 be filled with love, joy, friendship, family, health, passion, great food, good drinks and the prospect of travels!

– Magalie

Untitled
Untitled
Untitled
Untitled

And just because, here is how our tree really looks like:

the tree, as is

About Magalie

Canadian girl living in Texas, off to see the world when she can!
This entry was posted in Home, Post with photo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Happy Holidays! | Home

  1. Joanna says:

    Merry Christmas from chilly central China 🙂

    Like

  2. Anne says:

    Merry Christmas!!!

    Like

  3. Ginger says:

    The picture on the right above the last one-of what your tree really looks like- is exactly what I see out of my right eye! That’s so cool that you captured it! It does make looking at Christmas lights really pretty. Merry Christmas

    Like

    • Magalie says:

      Wow, if I could see the tree that way all of the time, I don’t know if I could ever stop staring at it. Might even get an eye patch to not have to squint! I guess there is good in everything, even bad vision 🙂

      Like

  4. jill says:

    I love all of these shots. So festive. Merry Christmas!

    Like

Let me know what you think!

