Tomatoes! | Home

20 lbs of free tomatoes
heirlooms
draining tomatoes
marinara sauce in the making

Travis was given about 20 pounds of heirloom tomatoes at work to bring home – how fantastic is that! I love heirloom tomatoes, they just taste so “tamato-y”, unlike the store-bought stuff we’re used to eating. These were getting close to going bad though, so I needed to act quickly. I separated them in terms of good to gone bad, and used the ones in dire need of getting used to make a marinara tomato sauce. It was my first time making a tomato sauce from scratch, and it turned out to be delicious. Of these tomatoes I used to make the sauce, I had also gathered quite a bit of tomato water and I used that to make a spicy tomato jelly and some vodka tomato jello shooters.

With the rest of the tomatoes left, and there are quite a few, they will be used in every day cooking and eating, and possibly something else once I think of it. (Note from the future: Travis turned some of them into more tomato sauce.)

About Magalie

Canadian girl living in Texas, off to see the world when she can!
This entry was posted in Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think!

