Introducing | Shiso

Travis had been dreaming of getting a dog for as long as I have known him. Living in Vancouver, and knowing that we would eventually go traveling, it just wasn’t an option. But now, being back and ready to settle down, and living somewhere with a yard, it was finally a possibility.

As much as puppies are cute and you can train them to your liking from the start, we decided that we would probably prefer a 1-2 year old dog. With Travis’ busy schedule, I realized that much of the dog care would fall to me and it wasn’t realistic to be potty training a puppy.

I started looking through the listings of all of the surrounding shelters, trying to find a small-medium size dog that looked like what Travis was after (black and white dog, or one similar to Pichi or Eyebrows) but instead stumbled onto a totally different dog and fell in love with her. I showed her to Travis, and he loved her too.

So we contacted Mixed Up Mutts, her shelter, and got the paperwork started. And now, she has arrived into our lives, and we are very excited. And overwhelmed. I have no idea what I am doing, and I am so worried about doing things all wrong… hopefully things will be great.

So, here she is, the newly renamed Shiso. She is a Whippet Lab mix, and is full of energy.

shiso
hi!
playing
in her bed
Untitled

About Magalie

Canadian girl living in Texas, off to see the world when she can!
This entry was posted in Home, Post with photo and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Introducing | Shiso

  1. Joanna says:

    What a perfect dog…does she have a sibling? I’ve always wanted a whippet and my kids love labs…we used to have a St. Bernard (miss him so much, he passed away last year). Dogs and cats are so great for kids.

    Like

    • Magalie says:

      Hi Joanna, I have no idea if she has any siblings! She came all the way from Calgary, and we got her when she was 11 month old – not much access to her history. I do think that she is quite the good looking mix!

      Like

  2. tylerkellen says:

    Congrats you two, she looks like a sweetheart 🙂

    Like

  3. Ashley says:

    I can’t wait to meet her!

    Like

Let me know what you think!

