Week 10 update | Home

This week:

+ More cleaning!

+ Made huge batches of jam! Bellow are some Saskatoon berries that I picked up at the farmer’s market. I had never had them before, and the verdict is: seedier and less flavorful than blueberries.

saskatoon berries

+ My birthday! Look at all these books my mom gave me!

happy birthday to me!

+ More cherries! The cherries in our yard were finally perfectly ripe, so I harvested every cherry I could reach from our side of the fence. The upside: free, beautiful, juicy cherries. The downside: at least 75% of them had a worm in them, that I had to remove while I was pitting them. It took a long time to pit them all by hand, but I’m glad I did because otherwise I would have missed the added protein. Worms may be gross, but these weren’t worth throwing all of the cherries away for. And after all of this, the neighbor across the street from us gave us a grocery bag full of cherries from their tree.

In the end, I had IQF fruits, cherries in syrup, cherry jam (sweet), cherry and balsamic jam, dehydrated cherries, and cherry pits (for a future project).

harvest bounty
fresh from the tree
pitting cherries
cherry juice
dehydrated cherries - before
dehydrated cherries - after
cherry end result

+ This sexy meal Travis made us on his day off!

pretty dinner

About Magalie

Canadian girl living in Texas, off to see the world when she can!
This entry was posted in Home, Post with photo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 10 update | Home

  1. Happy Birthday!!!!!!!! LOVE your photography.

    Like

Let me know what you think!

