Week 9 update | Home

This week:

+ My first visit at the local farmer’s market. Verdict: local farmers may be sending the best stuff to Vancouver instead of selling it locally… I was really looking forward to the market, and hoping it would be amazing since we are now living where all the tasty produce comes from, but it just isn’t as good.

+ Bought more gardening tools.

+ Made: strawberry jam.

+ Harvested: cherries! The neighbor has a cherry tree and half of it hangs over our front yard. I tried my best picking fruits, trying not to fall off our wobbly chair. We need a ladder! Afterwards I pitted them (by hand, because my pitter is still in boxes, still in Quebec) and made cherry jam and clafouti. It wasn’t nearly as good as the one I usually make, but again, our cookbooks are in Quebec…

yard cherries
cherries
Untitled
bowl of cherries
Untitled
Untitled
clafouti

+ As I mentioned before, a lot of things in our garden has already gone to seeds. The radishes are especially bad, and weird. The roots are miniscule, and could never be eaten, but the plants themselves are a massive tangled mess. Trying to figure out what to do with all of these flowers and seed pods, I suddenly had the weird inclination to taste one of these said pods. I don’t like radishes, but I discovered that I do love radish pods (and blossoms). They have bite and crunch, but just so. After some online research I learned that these pods (and the whole plant, actually) are actually edible, so I set out to do something with them. In a second bout of weird behavior, I decided to pickle the pods with some garlic scape we had on hand. I don’t eat pickles, but I figured that Travis would eat these.

radish flowers
radish seed pods
the 6 feet tall radish plant
radish pods, flowers and roots
radish flowers
radish pods, flowers and roots
pickled radish pods & garlic scapes

Note from the future: these were a big hit, and apparently delicious! The garlic scape though, not so much.

About Magalie

Canadian girl living in Texas, off to see the world when she can!
This entry was posted in Home, Post with photo and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Week 9 update | Home

  1. Anne says:

    Those really are tiny radishes for such big plants! I suddenly can’t wait for spring so that I can get started on my herb garden!

    Like

  2. These shots are just gorgeous! The cherries looked oh so yummy!!!

    Like

  3. Carli says:

    New Posts! YAY!
    I’m in a processing a posting frenzie right now too… I’ve got BIG… no.. HUGE news to drop soon!
    and ps. I’m drooling all over these posts. Fresh cherries and wine… two of the very few things I seriously miss from the okanagan

    Like

Let me know what you think!

