Will miss and won’t miss | Trip recap

Untitled

Now that we are home and that the trip is over, I wanted to share some of the things that I will miss and won’t miss from being on the road. Both the home and the road have their advantages and disadvantages. These are just a few things that kept crossing my mind while the trip was still going on, and are in no particular order.

I won’t miss:

  • Worrying about bedbugs
  • Not speaking the language
  • Cold showers
  • Carrying my ridiculously heavy purse everywhere
  • Living out of a suitcase
  • Men urinating in public
  • Lumpy pillows and uncomfortable mattresses
  • The lack of heat in cold places
  • Slow internet
  • Having to pay for drinking water
  • Being unable to recycle
  • Scorpions in bed
  • Aggressive touts
  • People listening to music on their phone without headphones.

And here is what I will miss:

  • Being on the move
  • Being flexible. If you like it, you stay. If you don’t, you leave
  • Following summer
  • Blue, blue water
  • Not working
  • Always trying new things
  • Always discovering new foods, places, cultures
  • Long train rides
  • Constantly being stimulated and challenged
  • Being free, or at least, feeling free.

What do you normally look forward to when getting home from a long trip? What do you normally miss about the open road once you get home?

About Magalie

Canadian girl living in Texas, off to see the world when she can!
This entry was posted in Home, Post-trip and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Will miss and won’t miss | Trip recap

  1. Jill says:

    I love lists like these. I’m working on a list for what I will and will not miss about living in Abu Dhabi. I think something I miss when I’m not traveling is that things never seem quite so photo worthy at home. Surely that’s just perspective but my eagerness to improve my photography always dies down when I’m home. And I also hate it when people listen to music on their phones without headphones. Especially because it’s usually obnoxious music to begin with.

    Like

    • Magalie says:

      I feel the same way about photography – at home it’s a much bigger effort to “document” things. Also I don’t want to increase my (editing) work load!

      I always get the impression that people playing music without headphones think they are doing everyone a favor by sharing their music, but instead it’s just rude and annoying!

      Like

Let me know what you think!

