Free Kiva loans | Community

I had been wanting to join Kiva for quite some time now, but wanted to wait until I had a paying job. I figured that it only made sense that way!

(Kiva works with microloans to empower people who live on just a few dollars a day. Find out more about Kiva by watching this amazing video.)

I was happy to discover today that due to a generous donation from an anonymous donor, new users can make a $25 loan – for free! This is only for a limited time, so go on over and help someone improve their life. There is no reason not to!

I find that it can be a little overwhelming to decide who to lend money to – there are so many people! For my donation I chose to donate to someone from a country I really love, Cambodia. I have been there twice and each time I was moved by the spirit of the people. In spite of having not very much at all, they are very generous and have amazing smiles.

My first loan was to Mov, a 35 year old farmer. She lives on $3.50 a day and is looking for a loan to purchase more land in order to expand her crop business.

Who will you loan to?

About Magalie

Canadian girl living in Texas, off to see the world when she can!
This entry was posted in Community and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Free Kiva loans | Community

  1. Jill says:

    I have so much love for Kiva! Glad you’re getting involved!

    Like

Let me know what you think!

