A day around town | Canada

a day around town

We were lucky and had sunshine again today. It was a perfect backdrop for all of our activities today!

My mom picked us up at the hotel and we moved our bags into her apartment. Afterwards, we went out for a generous pub breakfast. I got to try crumpets for the first time ever, and fell in love with them. Yum! It was also really, really nice to eat a proper breakfast again – I think the last time that we had a solid bacon and eggs breakfast was in South Africa (they take their breakfast seriously).

Travis was interested in seeing the city from a good viewpoint, and there is no better place to do that than from Mont Royal. Mont Royal, after which the city is named, is the only “mountain” in the city, and is an integral part of the city’s landscape. We drove up the mountain and parked by the artificial lake (used as a skating rink in winter) and walked to the Kondiaronk Belvedere for my favourite view of the city. It was windy and crisp, and there was still some snow on the ground, but the weather felt perfect. It was also the best conditions for looking at the city and the surrounding countryside.

lac des castors
Untitled
Untitled
mom and trav
Untitled
Untitled
montreal, the beautiful
inside the hall

From Mont Royal we headed towards the marché Jean-Talon, one of my favourite fresh produce market ever. On our way there though we stopped at a camera store, where I handed my camera in for some well deserved sensor cleaning. I learned that both my camera body and 18-55 lens no longer have serial numbers; I guess the stickers didn’t make it. It’s not a big surprise though, considering that anything glued to the camera is seriously coming undone. The poor thing has lead a rough life for the past year and a half! It felt really weird leaving the store without my camera. My bag was really light and I felt naked.

At the market we bought the making for a feast that Travis (and I?) would cook tonight and tomorrow. I love how in this market you can always find something you had never seen before, or can’t get anywhere else. We got an unknown Italian green / vegetable to use in a salad but skipped over the fingerling limes and fresh chickpeas. Who knew that you could get fresh chickpeas? I also got my fill of tire d’érable. I love spring in Québec!

Back at home I used blood oranges and clementines to make our own version of Harvey Wallbangers. Travis renamed my version “Harvey Headbangers”. They tasted pretty good, and the coral colour was stunning.

(Pictures taken with my mom’s camera.)

citrus
harvey headbangers
by the fire

For dinner Travis cooked duck legs and a sunchoke gratin – it was really good! We hadn’t had sunchokes in forever, and it was great to eat the earthy root again.

dinner prep
duck leg with sunchoke gratin

About Magalie

Canadian girl living in Texas, off to see the world when she can!
This entry was posted in Canada, North America, Post with photo and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A day around town | Canada

  1. mina says:

    i just read your about and found out that you’re actually from montreal and feel like an idiot for telling you about a more authentic cream cheese experience. haha.

    that home-made meal looks unbelievable.

    Like

Let me know what you think!

