Day 500 | Argentina

AKA “the big reveal” blog post.

As of today, we have been on the road for 500 days. That is 500 days of new locations, amazing sights, new foods, hotel rooms, mostly sunshine and good luck all around.

Day 500 is sort of like a birthday: crossing the threshold feels no different. Mostly it is surreal. It does not feel like it’s been that long. And as much as I know how lucky we are to have traveled for 500 days, somehow it feels… normal. I know that it shouldn’t be taken for granted, but I just don’t feel as excited or amazed by it than I should. Thankfully, I know the reasons why.

First, we are tired. I am tired. 500 days is a long time and I think that it was too long for me. I am no longer enjoying traveling as much as I used to, and it’s a shame. I am lacking energy and sightseeing is being kept to a minimum. We simply don’t do much anymore, and it’s affecting our perspective of cities and countries in a manner that I feel is undeserved. Yes, we are still having fun and yes, we are glad to be here – it’s just that now traveling is the norm and it doesn’t feel as special anymore.

Secondly, the end is now in sight. While we had planned and budgeted for 2 years on the road, we will be cutting our trip short. Why? Well, because we are tired. Furthermore, we had not expected South America to be so expensive. In fact, our money is running out. With this in mind, we have changed our travel plans to more realistic ones. Today, on our day 500, we have purchased our tickets back to Canada. We will be flying “home” in 75 days, on March 28th.

While we will be back in Canada, our trip will not be over yet. Indeed, we feel that our trip will actually be over once we have reached the city we will be making our home: Kelowna (explanatory blog post to follow). Our flight from South America is to Montreal, where we will catch up with family and friends. We also plan on doing a little sightseeing there, as well as organize our belongings that are currently stored in my dad’s basement. As of now, we do not know when we will be flying back to British Colombia to start settling down.

As you can see, today is a little bittersweet. We are enjoying a warm summer’s day and we love the freedom that travel affords us. Yet, we are tired and getting lazier by the day… We are looking forward to going back to Canada, but we are sad that the trip will be ending. We are not looking forward to facing real life and getting jobs. Yet, we have 75 days left of sunshine and warm weather, and knowing that these are our last 75 days will help us make the most of them.

So, what did we do today? Nothing much! I edited movies and photos, I booked our flight home, blogged and sent some emails. I did this overlooking the city of Posadas (and Paraguay, on the other side of the river) from the desk in our room. We had sunshine and heavy rain, and hanging out in our room felt nice. For dinner we went out to the corner bar, and were surprised with good food. It was a quiet day; it was a good day.

desk with a view

sunset over posadas
day 500 dinner - travis'
day 500 dinner - mine

PS. Happy Friday the 13th!

About Magalie

Canadian girl living in Texas, off to see the world when she can!
This entry was posted in Argentina, Home, Post with photo, South America and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Day 500 | Argentina

  1. Erin says:

    Yay!!!! Can’t wait to see you 🙂

    Like

  2. Anne says:

    I’m so happy you chose Kelowna!!!!!! Our visits back haven’t been the same without you.
    xoxox

    Like

  3. sparklytosingle says:

    Fantastic – you’ll be so close! Maybe we need to organize a Girls Night Goes On Tour to the Okanagan…

    🙂

    Like

  4. Vanessa Blandford says:

    Hold on I’m confused??? I thought you were settling in south america??? What happened? I was looking forward to having someone to visit down south! I am waiting impatiently for this explanatory blog.

    Like

  5. Jill says:

    That’s so incredible. After about 3 weeks I’m always feeling ready for something a bit more permanent. I feel like each new trip I take the less excited I am about sight seeing too… so I don’t know how you’ve kept it up for this long! Congratulations on Day 500!!!

    Like

  6. robynjg says:

    Congrats on getting to Day 500! Exciting news, looking forward to having you in BC =)

    Like

  7. Brendon James says:

    Yay!!!! Ripping it up in K – Town maybe we will come join you one day:)

    Like

  8. Carli says:

    okanagan time! sunshine and wine all summer, skiing all winter… can’t go wrong!

    Like

  9. Magalie says:

    Thank you everyone, can’t wait to be there and get started. And to eventually be able to receive visitors! 🙂

    Like

Let me know what you think!

