Where to next | Update

With only 1 month left in India, and potentially a lot of bureaucracy ahead, it was time for Travis and me to sit down and hash out our plan.

We pulled up a seat on our hotel’s patio and over a beer and great views of the Taj Mahal and the sunset, we worked. We researched more about visas. We tried every flight combo possible. We discussed different routes while looking at our map. We looked up info about border crossings.

We started with our four options: the Stans, the Caspian, Nepal and Eastern Europe. The first elimination went to the Caspian: I just wasn’t feeling it. As much as I read about it, I just couldn’t get excited. Next to be eliminated was our fafourite option, the Stans. In the end it came down to the cost of flights: as we would have to fly in and out, we would have to pay nearly $2000 just to get in and out of the country. It was way out of our budget, especially considering that we had to add an additional $200+ in visa and fees just to get there. Last to be eliminated was Nepal. While we are right there, and could cross overland, it went off the list because our final option, Eastern Europe, had one of Travis’s top dream destinations, while Nepal had none.

So, our plan is to fly to Kiev, Ukraine in mid-April via Moscow (we are currently working on a 72-hour transit visa) and spend a month traveling south until we reach Istanbul, Turkey where we will be meeting my mom. It will be a bit cold, but traveling on the off season should be nice. We are both really excited, now that we have actual, concrete plans! It will be more expensive than what we are used to, but we are saving on flights and visa fees.

Ex iron curtain, here we come!

About Magalie

Canadian girl living in Texas, off to see the world when she can!
This entry was posted in Planning and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Where to next | Update

  1. Brendon James says:

    Yay, have a shot or two of Vodka for me!!

    Like

  2. Amber Hughes says:

    Exciting! Bryn’s parents travelled eastern europe quite extensively a couple years back and had a magical time – I hope your time there is just as interesting! 🙂

    Like

  3. Ashley says:

    As usual….Jealous! love you guys!

    Like

  4. Laura says:

    Ooh great! I wish I’d made it to Eastern Europe while I was travelling in 2008. Can’t wait to read about it when you’ve been there.

    Like

  5. Magalie says:

    Thanks everyone, I’m really looking forward to it! It will be quite the change of pace / scenery / religion / food / weather!

    Like

  6. Antara says:

    Hey I’m Antara from India. I just went through your flickr and I love the pictures 🙂 So you’re still in Agra then? Did you visit Rajasthan by any chance? I haven’t yet been through your whole blog (which I will :D). Or North India?

    Have LOTS of fun ahead!!!

    Like

    • Magalie says:

      Hi, and thank you!

      We are currently in Rajastan, and will be exploring the region over the next few weeks. Afterward we’ll go up north and see the mountains a little before flying out.

      Blog posts for India will only come *much* later, as uploading pictures in India seems to not be working at all for me. One day though… 🙂

      Like

      • Antara says:

        Aah! And someday you must come to Kolkata (Calcutta). That is if you haven’t already. I live in a small town close to Calcutta. Or maybe I’m just biased when I say that because I love it here 😛

        Aah. Can’t wait for the blog posts to come! And your travel plans seem so very tempting! mmm!

        Like

Let me know what you think!

