Update | Bangladesh

Well, we have made it into Bangladesh. I will not spoil any of my already written blog posts, painfully awaiting internet, but did want to share that we are here, and are doing well.

Bangladesh is a black hole of internet. Even fancy hotels, part of large chains, have no WiFi. Internet cafes are around, but rare. Even then, the speed is slow, and the equipment, ancient. This baby I’m working on has a spiffy zip drive, and no USB port in sight. I’m afraid that any updates will need to wait until… I’m not sure when. I am writing though, almost every day. Expect a lot of back-dated entries when I return to the civilized world!

We are currently in Srimangal, a small town surrounded by tea estates. We should be here for 3 more days until we head South to the Chittagong area to visit Buddhist ethnic minorities. We will then head West towards Calcutta, India via the Subdarbans, the world’s largest mangrove forest, which is also the host to the largest concentration of tigers around. We should be in India within two weeks, depending on how traveling goes.

By far, we have stepped unto a far-removed country. I’m glad that I am not alone, but I’m also glad that we came to check things out.

About Magalie

Canadian girl living in Texas, off to see the world when she can!
This entry was posted in Asia, Bangladesh. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Update | Bangladesh

  1. Carli says:

    Guess who just got a postcard in the mail… MEEEEEE! Thanks girl! I owe ya… once you return to the world of having a fixed address πŸ˜‰

    Like

  2. Ashley says:

    so so so excited for you and living vicariously through you. xoxo

    Like

  3. agnes isabel says:

    Great post! Good thing you have come up with this subject to blog. It was really informative. I am looking forward for your next post! Keep it up!

    Like

Let me know what you think!

