On falling behind

I have discovered that one of the difficulties of traveling duo is that there are just too many distractions. You don’t get bored as much: you have someone to talk to, someone to eat with, someone with whom to let the time drift by. Instead of reading a book or writing in your journal – you talk with your travel mate. You watch movies on TV or on the computer. Instead of spending hours in an internet café, uploading pictures, blogging and emailing home, you do god knows what and suddenly you realize – you aren’t doing any of the things that you used to do. And you are *way* behind in what you’d like to have accomplished, “work” wise.

Blogging and posting photos is something that’s important to me for many reasons. In no necessary order of importance, I do it because: I love photography; I want to remember my trip as much as possible; I want to share my trip with my friends and family; I hope to gather a following; I am a perfectionist. The last point is really something that works against me though: unlike for my last trip, I am editing photos before posting them and I am not posting a blog post until the photos accompanying it are ready.

As much as I have all of the best intentions in the world, I haven’t been able to do nearly as much as I’d like. I can’t seem to find the balance, and as always my strong procrastination streak is kicking in. Being so behind, and so disconnected from what I used to do to pass the time is making me uneasy. I don’t like it, and I want to fix it. Screw procrastination: I need to get a routine going and I need to stick with it.

We have been gone for 130 days now, and I am 45 days behind in photo editing. Entire countries, such as Singapore and Indonesia, haven’t even been touched. While 45 days out of 130 (35%) doesn’t seem so gargantuan, it means over 8600 (!!!) photos that need to be sorted through, and the best ones, edited. I don’t know about you, but that’s a daunting task!

My plan right now is to attempt to catch up as much as possible, and then to maintain the pace so that I don’t fall behind this much anymore. Ideally, I would only be a few days behind, or at worse, a week behind. To get there I plan on:

– Attempting to edit one folder (one folder = one calendar day) a day, more when possible. Realistically it will be more like 1 folder every 2nd day.
– Sightseeing more of what matters instead of everything, and a little less time spent socializing with Travis (which he’ll appreciate too). This means that right now, Travis is in Vang Vien tubing down a river, and I am flying solo to get some work done.
– Once back into Bangkok, days waiting for visas will be spent editing pictures.
– Getting a 2nd computer. No, not so that I can use both at once, but so that I can use the computer while Travis does what he needs on the other computer. Sharing a computer was the worse idea ever, and it has been causing untold frustrations for the both of us.

Does anyone else have suggestions on how to catch up on so much photo editing??? Help and advice would be much appreciated!

In the meantime, that you for your patience and understanding. Expect to see a lot more photos posted on Flickr by the end of February, and a lot of retroactive blog posts!

Bellow: working lunch today at Café Van Bat Sene. I strongly recommend the pizza there!
IMG_1122_final_twin

About Magalie

Canadian girl living in Texas, off to see the world when she can!
This entry was posted in Asia, Laos, Post with photo and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to On falling behind

  1. Viet-Tu says:

    Parfois, c’est plus simple de recommencer a partir de la ou tu en es, plutot que de rattraper le retard…bien que j’ai tres envie de voir tes photos de Singapore!
    La pizza a l’air tres bonne, cela m’inspire pour ce weekend, merci!
    Bisous.

    Like

    • Magalie says:

      Oui c’est vrai la pluspart du temps! Mais si je ne retourne pas en arrière bientôt, tu n’auras jamais tes photos de mariage! Il me semble que tu as attendu assez longtemps! 😛

      Like

      • Viet-Tu says:

        Ces photos la peuvent vraiment attendre la fin de votre periple! Singapore est quand meme plus interessant…Bon courage pour les jours qui viennent, il semble deja que tu sois beaucoup plus consciencieuse, tant mieux pour nous lecteurs!

        Like

  2. Amber Hughes says:

    Oh Magalie… you have my utmost sympathy! That’s like having 2-3 weddings to get through for me, and I know how tough all that sorting can be. 😛

    If you’re able to get it at all (not sure how terrible download times would be for you right now) Photo Mechanic is THE program for photo culling. It only loads the embedded jpeg, so it’s much quicker than most programs out there. I do all my sorting and culling in there before importing my selects to Lightroom. Here’s the link:

    http://www.camerabits.com/site/

    Also… here’s one more tip: be ruthless and go with your gut instinct! If you flip to an image and it doesn’t immediately grab you, go to the next one. I find deep down you know right away if an image works and the more you stare an image the more you can confuse yourself on weather it’s good or not.

    Hope that all helps! Good luck! 🙂

    Like

    • Magalie says:

      Thank you Amber! I’ll check it out when I’m in Bangkok. Right now I’m using Adobe Bridge for sorting & culling before I start editing. I quite like it, but if there’s something even better, why not!

      Like

Let me know what you think!

