Miles

We are back in Tokyo. After 21 days of the Japan Rail Pass, our mad travel days are a thing of the past – for now. We have 5 days left in Japan before our flight to Singapore on the 10th.

Rest assured that we have put quite the mileage on the rail pass and have made back more than what we paid for it – perhaps twice over. Why, just today we took a local train from Kyoto to this fantastic temple, back to the Kyoto station, then to Shin-Osaka, and Osaka, and then back to Kyoto to catch our train back to Tokyo. We wanted to eat some takoyaki, so we took the train to Osaka to meet a friend and eat these delicious octopus balls in the city that invented them.

The downfall of going with such a pace is that there was just no way to find time to slow down, relax, update the blog or edit photos. I am sitting on over 20 days of unedited photos… it feels like quite the challenge but I really ant to catch up on them, if even a little. I don’t want things to get too out of hand with them, and be terribly behind. Perhaps my hopes of including pictures in my posts will have to be reconsidered, or at least adapted to best fit the reality of travel.

The other reason why I am looking forward to relaxing over the next few days is to rest my sore, injured left leg. About two weeks ago I injured what I thought was my knee, which was most likely just a calf muscle. Regardless, I’ve been walking on it ever since and it (obviously) hasn’t gotten better. I started bandaging it under a week ago, and two days ago swelling started. While it’s come down a little, having a kankle isn’t the best thing. It feels like I have someone else’s leg! And no, I have not taken any pictures of it. I am looking forward to it getting better, and being able to be able to walk long hours and many kilometers a day again.

With the ankle / knee issue, and just everything else in general, I feel like my last trip wasn’t 5 years ago, but decades ago. Was it this hard and this painful back then, and have forgotten about it? Or is the difference between 30 and 25 such a big one? Because right now, I feel old and cranky.

About Magalie

Canadian girl living in Texas, off to see the world when she can!
This entry was posted in Asia, Japan and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Miles

  1. Carli says:

    you’re coming here on the 10th now?? let me know if you’ve got time for coffee on sunday or monday! I’m not leaving until the 12th

    Like

  2. Magalie says:

    Yes, it’s the 10th. Actually we arrive on the 11th at 12:01 AM. We should totally have time to meet though, that would be nice!

    Like

  3. Carli says:

    Yay! I can come meet you after work on the 11th, just let me know where you’re at, and I can figure out where would be a good place. I work way out of town (by singastandards), so I usually only make it into town by 6:45-7pm ish.

    Like

  4. Magalie says:

    That sounds fine! We’re staying at the Inn Crowd in Little India.

    Like

  5. Magalie says:

    We’re here! You can email me or post a comment, I’ll keep trying to check when I can between sightseeing.

    Like

Let me know what you think!

