The new toy

Last week (when I was feeling down) I decided to finally go ahead and get my new camera. I ended up at the store knowing which body I wanted, but I had no idea for the lens. I was like a moody kid in a candy store – I wanted everything and just couldn’t make up my mind. In the end, I let price and weight decide for me, and not quality. It might seem odd, but really good lenses are really heavy (and expensive) and for now I’d rather travel light and learn slowly. If they get damaged or stolen, then at least they were only cheap lenses.

So, what did I end up getting?

  • Canon T2i body
  • Canon (kit lens) EFS 18-55
  • Canon (kit lens) EFS 55-250
  • Canon EF 50 1.8 (fast lens)

Shooting with the camera has been good thus far. I really enjoy finally being able to get good DOF and doing things that I couldn’t do before, such as zooming in or out while taking a picture. Even though I don’t know the ins and outs of the camera yet, I can already see such a better quality in the end product. I’ve also been paying more attention to framing, and just that is a big improvement! The downsides to this though are: having to change lenses (I would have liked to have fewer…) and a sore arm and wrist. I guess that I’ll get used to both!

Here are some pictures taken with the new camera:

pink rain
bunny oups! rainbow

About Magalie

Canadian girl living in Texas, off to see the world when she can!
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous, Post with photo. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The new toy

  1. Marie says:

    Salut Magalie!!! J’adore la photo des feux d’artifices 🙂 You are an amazing photographer!!

    Like

  2. Rob says:

    Great photos! Congratulations on your new camera!

    Like

Let me know what you think!

