For sale

A few days ago I started to post our furniture for sale on Craigslist, and boy, is that ever an adventure!

First of all I’m super slow at writing the posts and so it takes me for ever to post anything… I’m not even done yet posting everything! Secondly it seems that people just want IKEA Billy bookcases and nothing else. My five bookshelves were like hotcakes, I must have gotten over 20 emails about them and one of the buyers drove all the way from Coquitlam to buy 3. How crazy is that! So although our successes have been limited, we still have sold all of our bookcases and our couch. Only 23 more items to go!

With the bookcases gone the house looks like a mess. And with the couch gone, it’s really starting to feel like I’m regressing in terms of decor – it sort of feels like when my ex moved out on 2006 and I only had a few belongings. It’s back to using the single mattress as a couch! Haha πŸ™‚

I laugh now but putting the items for sale, and actually selling them was hard on me. I had a panic attack on Tuesday night, where nerves really got to me. What am I doing? Do I really want to do this? At that moment I wanted to hit the eject or abort button and call it quits. I guess that letting go of material possessions is much harder than I let it on to be… it makes sense when you think that this is usually something reserved for those of higher spiritual devotion. It’s quite the sacrifice, but I know that in the end the freedom I (we) will have will have been worth it. I won’t be bogged down by my furniture anymore; I can go anywhere and live anywhere without any problem. I can move around freely and do anything, enjoy myself and focus on what is truly important in life. It might be hard now, but this might just be the most valuable lesson that I’ll learn / my biggest growth opportunity of this whole adventure.

About Magalie

Canadian girl living in Texas, off to see the world when she can!
This entry was posted in Planning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to For sale

  1. Awww I think I know how you feel, I basically went through the same thing when my ex dumped in 2008 and kicked me out of the apartment with nothing but my bedroom dresser and bedside table for furniture. The couch, TV, bed, bookshelves, EVERYTHING, just gone overnight. I had to start from scratch. I definitely freaked out.

    I already knew this on an intellectual level of course, but I really learned it on a deeper level of feeling: feelings are temporary. It feels panic-inducing now but as you said, it will provide you with such freedom. In a few months you will not be thinking about this day, things will feel normal and you will be doing exactly what you wanted to be able to do πŸ™‚

    *HUGS* Nothing worth it ever comes easy, but it’s still worth it.

    Like

    • Magalie says:

      Awww, thank you Laura! I appreciate the kind words. I just have to hang in there! It’s a good thing that our furniture is selling, so I just need to focus on that.

      Like

Let me know what you think!

