Books

I really like my books – and Travis loves books as well. We love them so much that we have 5 bookcases in our apartment, which are all overflowing with books. The thing is, we now have to get rid of them… or at least, some of them. Just like with everything else, we just can’t keep them all.

Earlier this week Travis started to go through his books, and he now has a nice big pile by his side of the bed. I thought that I’d get started too – thus far I have gone through two bookshelves. The fate of some books is really easy to decide, but other books are a bit harder. Just how much do I like this book? Will I want to read it again? Do I just want to keep the book because it makes me seem cultured or up-to-date in the literary world (yes, sadly sometimes I catch myself being that shallow). And sadly I can no longer use the excuse to keep something because it was given to us. If we don’t use it or won’t read it again, it goes in the pile.

Thus far I have a good stock of books set for sale, and a smaller pile of books that I am still unsure about. I still have other bookshelves to go through – maybe now I’ll finally get rid of my university assigned textbooks and manuals! And I plan on doing another go around in a few days, see if I can’t part with more books.

It feels like a shame, especially for people who dream of having big imposing libraries in their house, but it has to be done. Anything that we can sell means more money for our trip and less stuff to store!

About Magalie

Canadian girl living in Texas, off to see the world when she can!
This entry was posted in Planning, Post with photo and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Books

  1. Hey Maggie, I’d be really interested in looking at the books you have for sale, I might like to buy some of them if they’re titles that I have on my to-read list. When/where are you selling them?

    Like

  2. Magalie says:

    For sure, if you’re interested! I don’t know when we were planning on selling the books, as Travis’ schedule is now more nebulous than ever… we were going to bring them to a 2nd hand bookstore to try to get $ for them.

    Like

  3. Well, email me maybe before you guys do that and if I can come over and see whatcha got maybe I will buy some! No promises… maybe you should let all the girls have at ’em come to think of it, we’re all reading all the time. I’m sure you would sell some of them that way!

    Like

Let me know what you think!

