Success!

When we first started to plan our trip, we sat down and came up with a rough estimate of what our monthly budget should be throughout the trip. We based this on our previous experience, but also on what seemed reasonable to us. Conveniently, on my last trip I tracked down every expenses, so I know exactly how much I spent in every country! Even though things change in 5 years, I think that it was a good starting point.

We are both very independent, and good with money. Even though we are married though, we decided to try to keep as balanced as possible and thus decided that we would both bring forth the same contribution to the budget. This way, there could be no added frustration or unnecessary burden on one individual. Of course, life gets in the way (for example, Travis could not work for 8 months while waiting for his Canadian permanent residency), but I think that in the end we will both have done quite well.

I decided to add a buffer to my goal amount – this would be used to cover pre-trip expenses, such as vaccination, plane tickets and travel accessories. This way, I was sure to actually leave with enough money to cover my end of the budget – and help Travis if in the end, I needed to do so.

Well, I am happy to report that not only have I reached my goal amount, but that I have also exceeded my buffer goal! This is really good news as I will have nearly 7 weeks without work before we leave Vancouver, and I need to have enough to feed myself without putting too much of a dent in my savings!

About Magalie

Canadian girl living in Texas, off to see the world when she can!
This entry was posted in Planning and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think!

