Learning from experience

It seems that I like to take on mammoth projects and complicate my life as much as possible. With this in mind, it makes a lot of sense that in the preparation of my next big trip, that I decide to give my travel blog a big overall. We’re talking silly, crazy stuff here: move the blog from the Blogger platform to WordPress, go through all of the blog posts to add categories, tags and pictures, and delete silly blog posts that don’t belong. For some reason I’m also finding myself correcting typos and some bad grammar, but it would be much too consuming to fix everything… I’m only doing a quick fix on that end.

Going through the posts thus far (and at the start of this project, there were 400 of them), I have learned a few things:

  • Spell check. I don’t know what I was thinking on my last trip, but it’s embarrassing.
  • Posts are really more interesting when they have pictures. Photo uploading should be more frequent, and previous posts fixed right away otherwise.
  • Pictures in horizontal format work well on the blog – vertical shots, no so much. This will have to be fixed (if possible) for the next go around.
  • I talked about where I was and what I was doing in quick overviews and highlights. There is no substance at times – no kidding people didn’t really follow the blog! There’s not much interest in finding out that I went out and saw some temples, for examples, if I don’t talk about them or show them to you!
  • Take the reader on a journey! Make them feel excited about what you are doing. The posts should be interesting to the public at large and not just your family (if that).

I spent a lot of time in internet cafes on my last trip – easily hours a week uploading photos and chatting with people at home. I’m not sure though why there are such gaps, or things that are completely skipped. The posts should also be an opportunity for me to display my pictures, and so the content should work accordingly. Does this mean that I’ll have to spend even more times in cafes next time around? I don’t know. But perhaps if I spend the same amount of time, but spread it out more, the result might be more interesting.

I also *really* need to take better pictures this time around. Less crooked, better framed, more interesting picture. I really don’t like looking at other people’s travel blogs when all they have are ugly pictures, yet as I add the pictures of the trip to their corresponding posts, I realize that now I’m the one with some pretty boring stuff to show…

On the upside, there are a few things being planned out to address these issues, and hopefully the result will be one kick ass blog that will actually share my passion of travel, food and photography with the world.

About Magalie

Canadian girl living in Texas, off to see the world when she can!
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think!

