A New Year

I’m pretty bad with resolutions, just as I’m pretty bad with keeping the blog or old friends updated with my life. I could make tons of excuses, but to be honest, I blame it on my spectacular procrastination skills. The intention is always there – but the drive is sometimes lacking.

Last year I made a few resolutions that I had actually, truly, wanted to keep. But most of them didn’t make it far.

I think that one of the most unfortunate goal to go astray was the one regarding photography. I wanted to take more pictures (and still do). But after a few days at the start of the year, I gave up on my stretch goal of participating in the “365 challenge” – mostly because I ended up with a lot of boring or stupid pictures unworthy of being uploaded. And then, for some reason, I was simply not taking pictures. To make my point: in 2007, I posted 1449 pictures on flickr. In 2008, the amount dropped to 856. I feel really bummed about that, especially when I look at my year as an archived photographic calendar.

Yet, as this new year begins and I am left over-analyzing the past, I still wish to make a few resolutions. Why? Because I still have hope. Hope that I can get better, hope that I can make my life fuller.

In 2009, I want to…

* Continue to take pictures, but in a attainable way. A “52 weeks” project seem a lot more likely.
* Work on myself, my home, my relationships.
* Continue to see the world.
* Continue to read – the only resolution that I really did well at last year!
* Complete, or at least put a serious dent in my book projects.

And that’s it! A short and realistic list. I think that less pressure will equal greater success!

Happy New Year everyone.

About Magalie

Canadian girl living in Texas, off to see the world when she can!
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think!

