Hong Kong, the final day

today was my last day of sightseeing and pretty much went as far away as i could go for sights. both destinations were around the new territories, but the first spot took me around 2.5 hours to get to. it’s a good thing that hong kong is a small place! the first place that i wanted to visit was a tiny 500 year old walled hakka village called kat hing wai. while it was nice to see old buildings still standing, the tiny enclosure so called a village was not worth the trip. and what’s more, while waiting for the bus back, i saw what looked to be a rabid dog, foaming at the mouth and all!

my wildlife adventures continued at the second sight, the 10’000 Buddha monastery (which really has 12’800 Buddhas). on my walk to there i saw a wild monkey and got quite the scare from two very aggressive dogs. and on my walk back from the temple, i saw my first HK rat.

what was great about today was the weather. i got to finally see some blue sky and sun. and to top it off, the humidity really calmed down today and the temperature was perfect – not too cold or hot. I’m glad that i managed to get one nice day out of my 12 full days here! at least though i didn’t get any (heavy) rain that would have prevented me from sightseeing.

tomorrow afternoon i hop on my flight back home. thankfully it’s shorter going back (by 3 hours) and I’ll get to go back in time as i leave at 2 pm but arrive at 11 am on the same day. it’s a lot better that way then the full day i lost on my way over!

entrance to kat hing wai a wonderful smile!
offerings in red count the buddhas! age

And I was finally able to get one of the shots that I was after:

the obligatory shot

About Magalie

Canadian girl living in Texas, off to see the world when she can!
This entry was posted in Asia, China, Hong Kong, Post with photo. Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think!

