Jungle and tea – like a proper coloniser

What better way to end a hike in the jungle than a stop at a fancy English hotel for some tea. That’s what I did today. I went for my first solo hike and my first hike in the jungle. I picked the easiest hike to ease myself into it. I kept looking around, hoping to see more but I guess it’s not pristine, remote jungle; it’s a path between two small cities that’s pretty close to the highway. Regardless, I saw a waterfall, butterflies, tons of different types of ferns, a squirrel and a few birds but nothing to write home about (although I’m kinda doing that, aren’t I?). I went up to the observation tower and the landscape was beautiful, with mountains playing hide and seek with the clouds.

After the hike I headed to The Old Smoke House, where I had great locally grown tea with a slice of spicy fruit cake, 2 scones, home made strawberry jam (nothing compared to mine!) and thick cream. Yummy! The whole place felt very English and it was all proper. I thought that it was a great way to get energy back after a hike and I wondered why I never did that in Whistler after hikes instead of going for nachos 🙂 but then again, I could go (right now!) for a huge plate of fancy nachos… yum! With a margarita por favor!

waterfall on jungle hike #4

thank god for jesus!
inside the smokehouse
proper tea the scones
spice cake the fancy stuff

About Magalie

Canadian girl living in Texas, off to see the world when she can!
This entry was posted in Asia, Malaysia, Post with photo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think!

